#readwomen2014

2014

This is the year to read women.

#readwomen2014

2014, The Year of Reading Women

As part of the new year, the Twitter hashtag, #ReadWomen2014 has been trending in the literary world. In an effort to raise awareness to being a gender-conscious reader, I’ve made it my goal to read more female writers this year. Of course, this by no means states that I won’t read something from a guy as well from time to time but you get the idea.

My list is generous (some I have read, some I have yet to read) and because I’m become addicted to buying books at the Strand, they’ve just been piled up (for now) to-be-read as soon as I get to them. They’re all a bunch of good ones which I’ve been meaning to get my hands and eyes on for quite some time:

Adelle Waldman’s debut novel

The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P.

Adelle Waldman

I’ve recently finished her novel and I really enjoyed it for the characters and how the idea of relationships were discussed . I even got to meet Adelle Waldman at an NYU bookstore event reading and it was great. She was totally cool! I got my book signed and we chatted for a bit. Stay tuned for my review/commentary on my reading of her debut novel in the very near future (next post most likely)!

St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves

Karen Russell

Swamplandia!

Karen Russell

Karen Russell’s newest book and her 2nd short story collection

Vampires in the Lemon Grove

Karen Russell

I’m not going to lie. I’m bias when it comes to Karen Russell. Not only did I get to meet her but she was an absolute pleasure to talk to and stuff. She was really genuine and she’s a MacArthur Genius! How awesome is that! Her short story collections were great and although I have yet to read her novel, I have no doubt in my mind it will not disappoint when I do get to it. 🙂

P.S. She also has a digital-only novella, Sleep Donation, coming out this March! Get excited!

Sweet Talk

Stephanie Vaughn

Stephanie Vaughn needs to come up with more writing for me to read. Her short story collection is the only published material that has been available for quite a while and I definitely recommend everyone to read her book. I even wrote a review on it that highlights how awesome it was to have encountered her book.

Bad Behavior

Mary Gaitskill

14248504-mmmain

Molly Antopol’s debut book of short stories

The UnAmericans

Molly Antopol

This is a short story collection that has been building up so much recognition that I really want to be part of the hype. Her book came out in February and she was in NYC for a while. I can’t believe I missed her! I’m definitely looking forward to reading her book in time for her next visit in the city.

Last Last Chance

Fiona Maazel

Fiona Maazel’s Woke Up Lonely in Paperback

Woke Up Lonely

Fiona Maazel

Fiona Maazel’s Woke Up Lonely is a Believer Book Award finalist, placing among a group of “novels and short story collections [the editors of the Believer] thought were the strongest and most underappreciated of the year [2013]”.

Her latest novel, Woke Up Lonely, is set to launch as a paperback in April.

You Are One of Them

Elliot Holt

Elliott Holt’s You Are One of Them

Everything I Never Told You

Celeste Ng

Vida

Patricia Engel

It’s Not Love, It’s Just Paris

Patricia Engel

Chasing the Sun

Natalia Sylvester

The Safety of Objects

A.M. Homes

Meg Wolitzer’s “The Interestings”

Bastard Out of Carolina

Dorothy Allison

Monkeys

Susan Minot

The Interestings

Meg Wolitzer

FYI: This list is definitely bound to be updated in the future. There’s always so much more to read. And if you have any to recommend, please do!!

Leave a comment